For Such a Time as This

861371-001

As I celebrated my 39th birthday, I reflected on the year that had just gone by…  I thought about all of the joys and all of the disappointments, I thought about where our family has been and where we are going, I thought about how much the kids have grown and all that they have learned.  As I was thinking about it all, I thought about a passage in the Bible.  Esther 4:14b says, “Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?”  I believe that we can all relate that verse to our own lives.  “Who knows whether you have come to this State… City… school… job… etc…. for such a time as this?”  The Lord put us where we are for a reason.  We are here, in this very place, at this very moment, because He has a plan for us here…right where we are.

As I have spent so much of my time, over the past year, grumbling about my circumstances, I have forgotten to ask God why He has me here.  What does He want me to do with my “such a time as this”?

As I homeschool my kids, as we go to co-op, as we go to church and Wednesday night activities, as I go to work, as I make dinner and wash laundry, as I snuggle with Adrian and watch a movie, as I cuddle with a sick wee one in the late hours of the night, as I watch for Adrian to come home from work… in all things, I will ask the Lord what His plan is for my “such a time as this.”

THIS TIME…. This time that God has given me…. I will use it to bring Him glory.  I will use it to show Jesus to others through me.  I will stop wasting my “such a time as this.”

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “For Such a Time as This

  1. Nicole Hoel

    Beckie,
    I hear you so clearly when I read this and can relate on so many levels. In every circumstance I am facing right now, so many out of my control, all I can think is “For such a time as this.” I don’t know all of the reasons for the heartaches and the joys, the ups and the downs, the tears and the laughter, all I know is in the grand scheme of life there is a plan. One way or another everything is going to work out. As we walk through this journey, keeping it all in perspective can be so challenging. I am so proud of you and your attitude, I know you go through the tough times to where your attitude isn’t always great, I do to. But, overall your heart came through in this and I think you are marvelous. Keep walking my friend, “For such a time as this!” Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

