The Little Things

Image

I crawled out of bed this morning and the smell had filled my bedroom – coffee.  Every morning, before anyone else is even thinking about waking up, Adrian gets up to go to work.  Just before he walks out the door, he makes a pot of coffee.  Adrian doesn’t drink coffee, he just knows how much I like to wake up to a cup.  It is his way of saying that he loves me before he leaves for work.

The other day, as soon as Adrian walked into the house after a long day at work, I had to leave to go to a women’s meeting.  Adrian handed me the keys to his car – he drives a little BMW, I drive a big Ford Excursion – and told me that his car was all ready.  It sure was!  His seat was set for me, the gas tank was full, the radio was on my favorite station, and there was a bottle of water in the cup holder.  Another way to say that he loves me.

A package came in the mail yesterday, addressed to Adrian.  He asked me to open it for him.  Inside was a nose ring – the one I’d been looking at on Amazon for weeks.  Adrian doesn’t care about such things – nose rings are just a girly accessory to him.  He knew that I’d been looking at it, though, and wanted to show me in another way that he loves me.

Last night, I was lying on the couch, feeling very fat and pregnant.  Adrian smiled at me, with a twinkle in his eye and said, “I love you, pretty girl.”  He does.  He loves me.  And I see it every day in the little things.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Pregnancy

3 responses to “The Little Things

  1. My husband is not a nurturer in his mind…but the little things he does for me show me how much he loves me daily.
    Sweet story!
    Peach State

  2. Sue Jones

    Becky, you are truly blessed. What a catch of a man you have! All men could learn a lot from him. If I don’t get a chance with all of the hustle bustle that will be going on in your life shortly, I just wanted to tell you good luck with this new baby. What a joy! I talk about you and your family with some of my friends when we knew you at the campground. Your kids are so respectful and well rounded. You’ve done alot of things right!
    You take care and have a blessed Easter!

  3. Diane

    This post brought tears to my eyes ~ happy tears. I love Adrian so much! And of course I love YOU! God blessed you and Adrian when He brought the two of you together. First there were two. Now there are almost 12! I can’t even tell you how much I love being a grandma! 🙂 But I love even more being your mom.

Leave a Reply

