He Was Walking Her Home

Three years ago today, the Lord called my beautiful Grandma Maday Home to be with Him.  

When my phone rang, and I heard my mom’s voice on the other end of the line, I just knew that something terrible had happened.  Before she was even able to tell me that Grandma was suffering from a massive heart attack, I began screaming and crying.  I knew that this day would come.  Grandma had been battling Alzheimer’s for years, and I had been praying that the Lord would just take her to Him and end her pain.  But…now the day was here…  He was calling her Home.  And I wasn’t ready.

Adrian and I had a party the night before, and one couple had lingered for the day.  They graciously offered to stay with our children while Adrian drove me to the hospital to say good-bye.  I prayed the whole way that God wouldn’t take her until I could see her one last time.  We rushed into the emergency room, then to Grandma’s room.  She was laying so peacefully, almost like she was asleep.  The nurse explained that she would probably not regain consciousness – they had her on morphine to keep her comfortable.  Her heart was giving out, so it was only a matter of time before it stopped…maybe only a few minutes…

Family had gathered and filled Grandma’s room.  Quiet tears streamed as we tried to understand…as we found strength to say good-bye to the queen of our family.

Oh, Grandma…  My sweet, beautiful Grandma.  I held her little hand and whispered everything that I wanted to say.  I told her how much I loved her, how much I learned from her.  I thanked her for all that she did for me, all that she taught me.  I thanked her for loving me when I was unlovable and for always having faith in me.  I told her how much my kids loved her, and how much she meant to my family.  I called my mom, in Alabama, and held the phone so she could say her good-byes.  I stroked Grandma’s hair, and buried my face in close to smell her “Grandma smell.”  I whispered in her ear that we’d be okay…we’d take care of Grandpa…that she could go Home with Jesus.  And… I cried.

As the family surrounded her, holding hands – Grandpa was holding Grandma’s hand – and praying The Lord’s Prayer, Grandma slipped away from us…and met Jesus.  When our prayer was over, the nurse told us that Grandma had quietly taken her last breath.  Grandpa held tightly to her hand for a few more moments.  I kissed her forehead and told her a final good-bye.  

It’s funny, the things that will remind me of my sweet Grandma – grilled cheese sandwiches and potato chips, pistachio salad, cranberry sauce, hair curlers, the smell of a perm, curly white hair, polyester pants, hair scarfs, plastic rain hats…  If I close my eyes, I can still smell her Grandma smell.  I can still hear her giggle.  

I am so thankful that the Lord blessed me with so much time with my grandma…that I have so many wonderful memories.  I can only hope that I am able to be a good example to others of the woman that she was.  And I can only pray that Adrian and I will have a marriage that is as loving as Grandma and Grandpa’s.  From the moment Grandpa saw Grandma, he loved her…and, when it was time for Grandma to go, Grandpa truly did walk her Home. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “He Was Walking Her Home

  1. beautiful, just beautiful ❤

  2. Diane

    Tears are streaming down my cheeks. I am thankful that she’s in a better place, but I still miss my mom so much.

  3. Mike Jones (or, as Grandma called me, BEUFORD)

    Thanks for the visual.
    I wasn’t ready, but never could have been ready. I wasn’t with her when she passed, but I was honored to be one of the last two with her before she entered the earth. Walking away from her that day was one of the saddest moments of my life and I am glad mom and I shared that moment together. I remember it vividly. Time stood still.

Leave a Reply

