I am Trying to Help You!

A few weeks ago, Phoebie was trying to change Eliyjah’s diaper in the living room.  I heard Eliyjah screaming, so I walked into the living room to see if I could offer a hand.  I watched for a moment as Eliyjah flailed his little body, trying to wiggle away from his big sister.  He was screaming and fussing, like she was hurting him.  After turning him onto his back (yet again), Phoebie yelled, “I AM TRYING TO HELP YOU!”  Of course, not understanding, Eliyjah wiggled and screamed some more.

I got to thinking about how often God must be thinking the same thing with me.  The moment I get a little uncomfortable, I start whining and complaining.  God is probably thinking, “Beckie!  I am trying to help you!”  Instead of just allowing Him to mold me, though, I fight against it.  Instead of allowing God to change me, I fuss and flail.  

“Oh, Lord. Please help me to be moldable.”

1 Corinthians 5:7 Therefore purge out the old leaven, that you may be a new lump, since you truly are unleavened. For indeed Christ, our Passover, was sacrificed for us.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

