Proverbs 31 Woman – Character Trait 1

I have decided to try to adopt the character traits of the Proverbs 31 woman, by working on one character trait each week.  According to Answers.com, it takes 21 days to condition a new habit.  I am hoping that by the end of 2012, I will be much more like the Proverbs 31 woman than I am today.

And so begins my journey…

Proverbs 31:10 Who can find a virtuous wife? For her worth is far above rubies. 

Webster defines “virtuous” as ‘morally excellent’.  What is ‘moral excellence’?  “Moral”, according to Webster, means ‘relating to principles of right and wrong in behavior’.  “Excellence”, according to Webster, means ‘an excellent or valuable quality’.  

To be a virtuous wife, I should display behaviors of valuable quality.  I should be aware of my behavior, and strive to always be on my very best behavior.  

A virtuous wife’s value is far above rubies.  Why not diamonds??  It seems that rubies and sapphires are mentioned more in the Bible than diamonds.  In some cultures, the ruby is called “the king of the gems”.  Rubies (and sapphires) are actually more rare and more valuable than diamonds.  (More valuable than diamonds?!!)

The ruby is mentioned in the Bible, at least, six times.  Job 28:18 “No mention shall be made of coral or quartz, For the price of wisdom is above rubies.”  Proverbs 3:15 “She (“she”, in this verse, is “wisdom”)  is more precious than rubies, And all the things you may desire cannot compare to her.”  Proverbs 8:11 “For wisdom is better than rubies, And all the things one may desire cannot be compared with her.”  Proverbs 20:15 “There is gold and a multitude of rubies, But the lips of knowledge are a precious jewel.”  Proverbs 31:10 “Who can find a virtuous wife?  For her worth is far above rubies.”  Lamentations 4:7 “Her Nazirites were brighter than snow And whiter than milk; They were more rubby in body than rubies, Like sapphire in appearance.”  The Biblical meaning of the ruby is preciousness, of great value, costly glories, wisdom, and apprised treasure.  

According to Proverbs 31:10, a virtuous wife is precious, of great value, wise, and an apprised treasure.  

This week, I am going to condition myself to become a virtuous wife.  I am going to condition my behavior to be morally excellent and of great treasure.  Yes, I want my worth to be above rubies…

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

