Titus 2 Woman

Oh, how I long to be a Titus 2 woman.  Titus 2:3-5 “The older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

I think about the women that I looked to as mentors when I was younger, and the women who still hold that place in my life.  I am so thankful that I have had women to teach me to be the wife and mother that the Lord is calling me to be.  

I have become very aware that there are now younger women watching me…(when did I become an older woman?)…listening to the way that I talk about, and to, my husband…watching how I interact with my children… Women who see the way I choose to dress, how I carry myself in a crowd, the words I speak… Just as I imitated the women who I saw as mentors, I need to remember that there are women imitating me.  Do I want those women to say ugly words that hurt their families?  Do I want them to wear a blouse that might be seen as provocative ?  Do I want them to see me behaving in a way that is inappropriate and, in turn, behave inappropriately themselves?  

I want to keep my house neat and tidy, a home that my husband and children can be proud of.  I want to do my daily chores with a smile, knowing that I am blessing my family.  I want to dress modestly and feminine.  I want to have Jesus’ heart for people, loving the unlovable and caring for those who have no one to care for them.  

When I speak of Adrian, I want only to speak in love.  When I tear him down, even to others, I tear down my marriage.  When I speak of my children, I want only to speak positively.  When I speak negatively of them, I speak life into bad behavior and disobedience.  When I speak at all, I want my words to please the Lord.  I want to refrain from gossip and malicious talk.  I want to speak life into all situations.  I want to have a willing heart to pray for people when I feel the Lord laying it on my heart.  I want to see people as Jesus sees them.

Yes, I long to be a Titus 2 woman…to be the woman that the Lord has called me to be…to be an example to the younger women…and to do my Father’s work.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Titus 2 Woman

  1. Theresa

    Your a great mama! Love you tons!

    Totally unrelated but whats up with the ads at the end of each post? Very annoying!

  2. My Quiver Full

    I don’t see the ads??

Leave a Reply

