Eliyjah’s Story

Here is Eliyjah’s Story:

October 15, 2010.

5AM I woke up with contractions.  Nothing too terrible, just uncomfortable.  I walked downstairs, made a pot of coffee and turned on the news.

5:45AM Adrian woke up, got ready for work and came downstairs.

We sat together on the couch, deciding if he should stay home or go to work.

6:15AM Adrian woke the big boys up for school.  They got ready and ate breakfast.  I stayed on the couch, still pretty uncomfortable.  The contractions were consistent, but not unbearable.

6:45AM I decided that I better call my day care baby’s mom and tell her that I thought I was in labor.  I was still unsure if I should go to the hospital.

6:50AM In just 5 short minutes, my contractions got strong enough that I couldn’t talk through them.  Adrian called my mom and dad, asking them to come over to be with our kids.

7:15AM We decided we couldn’t wait for my parents and left for the hospital.  We left the kids with Iszak and Gabryel.  Adrian called his mom to see if she wanted to go to the hospital.

7:40AM We got to the hospital.  They put me in a triage room and hooked me up to monitors.  The nurse checked me.  I was dilated to 7!  (Never having gone into labor on my own, I was shocked!  I was afraid, as we were driving to the hospital, that they would send me home.)

8AM I was brought to a labor and delivery room.  The nurse started an IV.

8:15AM I got prepped for an epidural, but the nurse changed her mind.  They gave me intrathecal morphine.

9:45AM I was fully dilated!  WOO HOO!  Just had to wait for Adrian’s mom to get to the hospital, then I could start pushing!

9:50 AM Adrian’s mom came and I was prepped to start pushing.

10:16AM Eliyjah Kent was born!!  Weighing in at 6 pounds, 6 ounces; measuring 19 inches.

It was so exciting to go into labor on my own!  Of course, I found out that it is nothing like they portray it on TV.  There was never that one defining moment where I looked at Adrian and said, “This is it!”.  The whole time I was wondering if it really was “it”.  Until the nurse checked me, and told me that I was dilated to a 7, I wasn’t sure if I was in true labor.  When I knew that it was the real thing, I could hardly believe it!  The contractions were intense, but nothing like they were when I was induced.  I have decided… If we are blessed with another wee one, I definitely want to go into labor on my own again.

(Obviously, all times are approximate.  I was in labor, after-all.  *wink*)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Eliyjah’s Story

  1. Jayme Schultz

    What a cool story! I have to say that even my fourth time going into labor on my own, I still was never sure it was “real” until close to pushing!

  2. Mandi

    Great story, Beckie!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Theresa

    I had my nine the old fashion way. You were blessed to have such a short delivery time. That was a blessing from our Lord. Thanks for sharing this.

  4. That’s a great labor/delivery!! I haven’t connected with you since you’ve brought him home. I feel like such a bad friend! 😦 I’m sorry. You inspire me so much as you keep having children. I know I just had one 4 months ago, but I’m growing weary of pregnancy. No matter how “normal” I try to keep things when I’m pregnant, I just can’t.
    Actually, I was thinking these past two weeks, and if/when I do get pregnant again, I am going to go ahead and ask for nausea meds. It’s the only way I’ll be able to function with 5 other children. I do NOT want them in front of the tv all day for 3 months again.
    Anyways, congrat’s again!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

