So That Makes…

 

We were all outside, cleaning up our yard at the campground, when a group of older, retired people came up to our yard.  After admiring our dog, Snickers, one of the ladies looked up and began counting my kids.  After a very long silence, she looked at me questioningly.  “How many?”
(“How many what?”, I wanted to say.  “There are 15 chairs around our fire pit, there are 150 planks of wood in our deck, there are 4 dog turds in the yard – watch where you step!”)

Knowing that she was referring to the number of children I have, I smiled and said, “Eight!”

After letting the number ‘eight’ settle in her head, she looked at the rest of the people in her group in horror.  “She has EIGHT kids!”  They looked at me, sympathetically, like I had been forced to bear such a burden.

Another woman, noticing my obviously pregnant figure said, “So…,”  pointing to my belly, gasping,  “that makes NINE?!”

As I nodded politely, I thought she might pass out.

The first lady, after another uncomfortable silence, began admiring my dog again and said, “Well, I’ll take the dog.”

I looked at her very seriously and said, “If you take the dog, you get two kids free.”

She looked at me like I’d said a bad word.  “I get to choose which two ya get, too!” I added, pretending to give her our littlest guy.  He just giggled.

The group of people laughed uncomfortably and backed away.  They quickly got back on the road, and began their leisurely walk again.  I could hear the heavy sighs and deep breaths, “Nine?!!”

Strange.  I didn’t see them again all weekend.  I wonder if they stayed away on purpose.

Loving them because of Him,
Beckie

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “So That Makes…

  1. I have had that happen to me, several times!
    Blessings!!!

  2. Tirzah

    BWAH HA HA HA HA!!!…dumb people…thats all I have to say.

Leave a Reply

