Miracle

(Originally written on April 29, 2009.)

I was blessed on Monday with the opportunity to be with my cousin as she gave birth to a beautiful baby girl.  It was the most beautiful, awesome experience I have been able to be a part of….next to the birth of my own seven babies.

I got a call on Sunday evening – Nikki’s water had broken and she and Cory didn’t know what to do.  I smiled inside, that they thought to call me.  Nikki wasn’t feeling contractions, so I told them that they should just calmly call their doctor to see what he recommended.  Within an hour, they were on their way to the hospital.  I kept in close touch – not wanting to pry, but wanting them to know that I was there.  I could hardly sleep, knowing that they may call at anytime to have me go to the hospital.  As morning came, Nikki was still only dilated to one centimeter.  My heart ached for her.  I know how frustrating it can be, to be told over and over again that you are not making progress.  Adrian went to work, with his phone and pager close by so I could call him home if Nikki and Cory decided that they wanted me to go to the hospital to be with them.  Around noon I got the call!!  Nikki was dilated to seven centimeters and was asking for me.  I called Adrian home and ran out the door.  When I got to the hospital, Nikki looked fabulous.  She had an epidural and was feeling quite comfortable.  She was dilated to ten centimeters…just waiting for the baby to drop so she could push.  We spent an hour talking about their excitement over their new little one, and about how crazy she thought I was (having gone through labor seven times and being pregnant again).  I watched as Nikki’s contractions became more intense and as she started to feel pressure.  The nurse came in and checked her – the baby had dropped and Nikki was ready to push.

With Cory holding her hand, and me holding her head, Nikki started to push.  With every push the baby’s head became more visible.  It was such a miracle, seeing the teeny head appear with a head full of dark hair.  After only 5 or 6 contractions, baby Emilee Nevina was gently eased into the world.  When the nurse put Emilee on Nikki’s chest, she held her baby so tenderly…like she had been holding her forever.  I nearly got lost in that moment…just being a part of the beauty and miracle of a new life.

I will always be thankful to Cory and Nikki for giving me the honor of being there…and I will always hold a special place for sweet baby Emilee.

Psalm 139:13-17
For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
I will praise You, for I am fearfully
and wonderfully made;
marvelous are Your works,
And
that my soul knows very well.
My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
And in Your book they all were written,
The days fashioned for me,
When
as yet there were none of them.
How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!
How great is the sum of them!

Blessings, Beckie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

