I Miss…

(This post was originally written on September 21, 2009.)

I miss my grandmas so much!  Grandma Maday and her purple personality.  She was so silly, and her smile would light up an entire room.  Her tiny little self left such a huge impression on anyone who met her.  Grandma Spinks and her lipstick personality.  She felt good as long as her lipstick was in place (even if it transferred to her teeth).  Her arms were always reaching out to offer help or a hug.  She was so giving, of herself and all that she had.

I will miss taking trips to Indiana with my sister… waiting in the airport, too nervous to speak sensibly, so we shared funny quotes from movies we’ve seen over the years and laughed so hard we almost wet our pants….  Trying to find our luggage on the round-about thing, recognizing everyone else’s suitcases as our own…  Sharing a hotel room…  Frequent visits to Grandma’s nursing home… Driving around for hours, lost and laughing… Staying up late, giggling in bed….

I will miss sharing time with my sister here in Minnesota, visiting Grandma and Grandpa…. Hanging pictures that we lovingly selected for Grandma and Grandpa’s new apartment….   Sharing tears of lost moments, and enjoying the moments of today… Sharing laughs at the funny things Grandma would say….and shock at the things Grandpa would say…. Taking an extra minute in the parking lot to share a hug…. Stopping by her house on my way home to hug her kids, or eat with her family…. Painting Grandma and Grandpa’s house together…. Laughing…always laughing…. Holding each other up….  I miss my sister.  I miss sharing things with her, and hearing her voice.  I miss praying with her and sharing words of encouragement.

I miss my brother.  I miss his humor, the way he could always make me laugh.  I miss knowing that he is only a 12 hour drive away…and that there would always be welcoming arms waiting for us at the end of the drive.

I miss allowing comments on my blog…. I miss the encouraging words from my friends that would be left here….  For now, however, I cannot allow comments.  My friends are always welcome to email me, or find me on Facebook.  I love you all!

Psalm 30:5
Weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

Psalm 34:18
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Psalm 37:39
The salvation of the righteous comes from the LORD; he is their stronghold in time of trouble.

Matthew 5:4
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Philippians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God

Revelation 21:4
He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.


In Him, Beckie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

